How Thick is Your Skin?

Motivation can be found in many areas; whether it be in what we see, who we speak with, how we feel on any given day, etc.  Today, I feel compelled to speak about motivation given via others that we speak with.  How thick is Your skin?  Negative reinforcement as a motivator, does it work for you?

Many lives ago, I knew a person that gave, what I called, ‘twisted compliments’.  He didn’t see them as such, he thought that it was a motivational tactic and a little bit of a knife in the side for good measure (sadistic pleasure).  He didn’t hide the fact that he was just being an ass, so I didn’t hide my disdain with a witty comeback of my own.

Its been many years since those days, but every now and again, I am reminded, via words said – how negative words can motivate me, some might think it is in a good way.  ‘Look.  You did a post on it, that you wouldn’t have done had I not said something’, could be words used against me to prove a point; yet what I feel while writing this is not what I want to feel, yet I need to get it out of me to get past it.

My writings maybe sporadic, they may not concern a living soul except myself, they many never be seen or heard; and all of that is fine because I do this for my journey and no one elses.  So how thick is my skin?  Apparently, what used to be thickened by life experiences has softened by life experience.  How’s that for a dual-edged sword?  What’s worse, is I no longer want a thickened skin.  I’m tired of being hardened by life and its insensitivity.

jane

About janedoe68

I am anyone, everyone, and no one. I have lived many lives, under many different names. I could be your best friend, your sister, a neighbor, your boss, your daughter, your mother, an enemy, a confidant, even your grandmother. Yes, I have lived and I have been all of these things at one point in time to someone. I am a multi-faceted woman. I write anonymously, to be heard not for who I am, but for what I have to say.
This entry was posted in Perspective and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for your comments!

